Africa Union Commission Retreat

The Commission is the Secretariat of the Union entrusted with executive functions. It is composed : A Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson; Eight (8) Commissioners and Staff members. The structure represents the Union and protects its interest under the auspices of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government as well as the Executive Committee. The AU Commission is made up of Portfolios. They are: Peace and Security; Political Affairs; Trade and Industry; Infrastructure and Energy; Social Affairs; Rural Economy and Agriculture; Human Resources, Science and Technology; and Economic Affairs.

Over the years, the Retreat has strategically engaged with timely, contextual and challenging issues, with a particular emphasis on strengthening mediation and dialogue capacities on the continent, and promoting collaboration and complementarity among the various actors. Pursuant to this, and considering the African Union’s continued role leading and/or supporting various mediation, dialogue and other peace processes across the continent, this year’s Retreat will take stock of the AU’s progress in peacemaking, and reflect on how to enhance its role to yield better, broader peace dividends for more sustainable peace and better governance in Africa.

For more information, visit the website below


8th - 11th June


Kigali Convention Centre